“LEGO Launches a Movie Franchise: Pabulum and Sly Social Satire” (by KPKeelan)

THE LEGO MOVIE

(directed by Chris Miller & Phil Lord, 2014)
*** (out of 5)

*

> Let me admit from the top that I love Legos- always will love the infinite possibilities they present for creative play.

. It was painful for me to have to liquidate my collection when I moved to an impossibly small space and had to let them go. But was I interested in a kid’s film based on the Lego product line? Uh- no. Not in the least.

. It felt like another craven attempt to transform the movies into feature length commercials, and the trailers looked way too busy and chaotic for me- a common shortcoming of films aimed at kids, where frenetic action is often mistaken for content. So why did I chose to go out and see this unlikely choice of film? Against all odds- the critics loved it! The reliable database A Critical Consensus awarded the film an astounding 8.2 (out of a theoretical 10.0), and after seeing it, I get why they liked it, even though I am unable to share their enthusiasm. Was it clever? Yes. Fun? Yes. Punny and occasionally funny? Granted. But original? No, not so much.

. This is a predictable ‘formula film’ offering plenty to look at despite the fact that there’s not much there. The vocal talent (so crucial in animated films!) left me completely unimpressed. The flat, uninspired voiceovers, (even from greats like Morgan Freeman), could not successfully animate the complete blank blandness of the cursory Lego faces that are designed for toddlers to respond to- not adults.

. Evil Lord Business (yawn!) hates the messiness of Legoworld, with its myriad changeable possibilities- so he introduces super-glue with the threat of permanently bonding all Lego pieces into place. But legend tells of a “special” one who will lead the Lego masses in an uprising against the evil forces of… (Yawn! ZZZ!) For adults who are paying attention, there is some biting social criticism here, despite the heavy-handed by-the-numbers plot. In one bit of lucid social parody, the populace of Legoworld is kept placated by an inane pop culture that keeps them in line, with idiotic one gag TV shows like “Honey, I Lost My Pants!” and hit songs like the maddening “Everything is Awesome” (penned by Devo’s awesome tunesmith Mark Mothersbaugh). One relentlessly upbeat cat character, (think “Hello Kitty”), works hard to stuff down her feelings and express only sunniness and optimism- only finding her real power when she allows the righteous indignation she is always repressing to shine through and translate into action.

. All this said- I enjoyed THE LEGO MOVIE. It was entertaining eye candy, child-sweet, but with a tart aftertaste.

– Still, I won’t be racing out to see the inevitable sequel.

*

THE LEGO BATMAN MOVIE

(directed by Chris McKay, 2017)
*** (out of 5)

*

> Okay- so I will admit that I liked the first LEGO MOVIE. That does not make me enthusiastic about it becoming a series. I most certainly am not.

. It’s such limited and visually repetitive stuff. But here, they continue the tongue-in-cheek, self-knowing satire of the original- clearly meant to appeal to us cynical adults, as it would fly right over the head of its target audience. There is a good amount of such fun silliness here- showing the pathetic side of the Batman- the lonely, disconnected billionaire who has no one in his life but himself and his buffoonish alter ego, in addition to his weary manservant Alfred.

. This installment started out horribly. Big, empty, boring mayhem… Yawn! Ten minutes into it, I was just about to throw in the towel. Then it slyly got better as the heart of the film revealed itself. Before it was (rather suddenly) over, I managed to convince myself to have fun with it. Some pretty dark humor here, is insidiously inserted between the lines. That said, I do not foresee viewing the new Lego Ninja film- or any that follow.

– Not unless somebody gives me a very good reason.

*

THE LEGO MOVIE 2: THE SECOND PART  (2019) ***

> Really! I came back for a third LEGO travesty? I must be a glutton for punishment.

. This franchise is really not my thing, but I keep watching them, and I keep being entertained by the slyly clever way they satire modern life. Actually, the lonely, needy Lego Batman cracks me up.

. In this outing, the Lego folk are invaded by their “Duplo” cousins from outer space. (Duplo are Legos for the younger set. Everything is bigger for tinier fingers.) Our trio of flawed, awkward heroes must face the usual dire threats and bring peace back to Bricksburg.

– Silly, colorful action. Think of it as candy- not a meal. Candy is nice sometimes.

*

© Kevin Paul Keelan and lastcre8iveiconoclast, 2019. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kevin Paul Keelan and lastcre8iveiconoclast with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About KPKeelan

Fool, Philosopher, Lover & Dreamer, Benign TROUBLEMAKER, King and Jester of KPKworld, an online portal to visual and linguistic mystery, befuddlement and delight.
This entry was posted in QUIET in the BACK! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Love to hear your (constructive) thoughts!