“The First Time” (a traditional Irish rhyme)

IRISH Flag.

(Another gem I learned at a pub in Carolw town, from traditional Irish storyteller Jim Nolan, a master shanachie in his day! He’s telling stories to the angels now…)

*

I remember the first time I DID IT…

I was only a lad of fifteen.

I remember she was much younger.

She was far more composed and serene.

It happened outside in the barn

at the close of a warm summer’s day,

so the air was all scented with clover

and the fragrance of new-mown hay.

I remember she moved much closer

and the touch of her body was warm.

I just stood there and wondered:

“Would it be any harm?”

Many years have now passed since that day.

I will never forget it, I vow:

the thrill and the joy that I knew as a boy

on the day that I first…

milked a cow.

* * *

About KPKeelan

Fool, Philosopher, Lover & Dreamer, Benign TROUBLEMAKER, King and Jester of KPKworld, an online portal to visual and linguistic mystery, befuddlement and delight.
This entry was posted in IRISH RAMBLINGS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “The First Time” (a traditional Irish rhyme)

  1. Stacy Fisher says:

    Funniest man in the room… ;-P

    Like

Love to hear your (constructive) thoughts!

