Poems of a Young Man: “ONE MINUTE PAST 24 HOURS OF THE TWILIGHT ZONE”

*

ONE MINUTE past 12 AM-

Puttering as the third episode of a 24 hour TWILIGHT ZONE marathon

unreels in my background…

You unlock this door with the key of imagination.

 

ONE MINUTE past 1 AM-

Even Johnny Carson is put to bed

but not me.

For me, the all night movies have just begun…

 

ONE MINUTE past 2 AM-

It’s a choice between Victor Mature and Katheryn Hepburn-

romance or war?

Naw. Back to a dimension of sound,

a dimension of sight,

a dimension of mind…

 

ONE MINUTE past 3 AM-

Ronald Regan looks just as ridiculous on horseback

as he does behind a podium

The ZONE draws me back in.

moving into a land of both shadow and substance,

of things and ideas…

 

ONE MINUTE past 4 AM-

Still writing- too much momentum to stop.

Looks like I’m writing a letter I’ll never mail

to a lost love I’ve lost track of.

Too late to sleep now anyway,

I turn my attention to the mesmerizing voice of Rod Serling…

 

ONE MINUTE past 5 AM-

Waiting for the sunrise,

I didn’t make it

dozing on the sofa…

 

ONE MINUTE past 6 AM-

Jarred awake by clanging garbage cans

drifting roughly back into sleep…

 

ONE MINUTE past 7 AM-

Dreams of peace

and peace disturbed,

all flow into:

 

ONE MINUTE past 8 AM-

Drifting in and out of consciousness…

 

ONE MINUTE past 9 AM-

Off the deep end now,

I am immersed in thick sleep, oblivious…

 

ONE MINUTE past 10 AM-

The telephone rings.

I groggily answer-

the message, promptly forgotten…

 

ONE MINUTE past 11 AM-

Up for real, I guess-

about half-awake,

dingy white long-johns against ugly orange couch.

Strong coffee spilled on The L.A. TIMES…

 

IT’S 12:01 PM now.

Just past NOON.

Time to dress and tune back in

to the first TWILIGHT ZONE of the day,

moving into a fifth dimension

beyond that which is known to man…

 

ONE past 1 PM-

Breakfast for lunch,

maybe I’ll have lunch for dinner,

in a dimension as vast as space and as timeless as infinity…

 

ONE past 2 PM-

Ah- finally fully awake

and able to concentrate…

 

ONE past 3 PM-

Screw it. I give up on concentrating,

allowing my mind to wander

into the middle ground between light and shadow…

 

ONE past 4 PM-

I write,

phone calls call me,

I read… Drift…

 

ONE past 5 PM-

Friends drop by,

enter THE TWILIGHT ZONE with me,

share a moment, depart…

 

ONE past 6 PM-

Getting hungry again,

I rummage through the kitchen,

nosh, and begin to clean a cockeyed house…

 

ONE past 7 PM-

Night begins to fall.

The family gathers,

lounges,

talks-

while in the periphery:

a mirror shatters

a disembodied eyeball winks…

 

ONE past 8 PM-

All plans for the evening fall through

and I find myself somewhere between science and superstition

between the pit of man’s fears

and the summit of his knowledge…

 

ONE past 9 PM-

The day is wearing thin.

That familiar theme of mystery plays again…

 

ONE past 10 PM-

My pen scribbles.

the drama unfolds.

I watch the clock in weary anticipation of:

 

ONE past 11 PM-

Time for local news and another episode

in the dimension of imagination…

 

ONE MINUTE past 12 MIDNIGHT…

and I’ve just crossed over into

THE TWILIGHT ZONE.

*   *   *

© KPKeelan
(9- 3- 78)
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED
About KPKeelan

Fool, Philosopher, Lover & Dreamer, Benign TROUBLEMAKER, King and Jester of KPKworld, an online portal to visual and linguistic mystery, befuddlement and delight.
This entry was posted in Poems of a Young Man and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Love to hear your (constructive) thoughts!

