Poems of a Young Man: “A Reminder to the Woman”

.

Between the sheets

you are dynamite incarnate

but you do seem to talk about it

more than we do it.

The point is

I have a feel for you

That I have for few.

We can talk so guilelessly.

Me, sunk into depression

You, jump gamely to my rescue

and in the exchange

you become blue too.

So I comfort you!

And in the process

I have forgotten my own troubles.

Hanging  on a tree branch

engulfed by dark moonshadow

you confess your affection

and I absorb every syllable-

a thirsting wayfarer quenched.

You swore

You would never reject me.

(An impossible promise,

but a sweet oath indeed.)

You inspire me

In ode after ode after ode-

and now

here we go again.

 

Don’t fret about the repercussions

when I remind you

that I love you.

It’s not a threat.

 

 

It’s only Love.

.

 (5- 11- 78)

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

About KPKeelan

Fool, Philosopher, Lover & Dreamer, Benign TROUBLEMAKER, King and Jester of KPKworld, an online portal to visual and linguistic mystery, befuddlement and delight.
This entry was posted in Poems of a Young Man and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Poems of a Young Man: “A Reminder to the Woman”

  1. The bitter irony of romantic love….doomed to fail…

    Like

  2. Thank you incredibly much for following my blog. I certainly look forward to rummaging around your site…you have a great writing voice. Take care!

    Like

Love to hear your (constructive) thoughts!

