“A Mirror Full of Cognitive Dissonance” (a poem by Kevin Keelan)

*

Oh man!

What a poser, I!

The better I get to know myself

as I slide into bitter, useless old age,

the less I see to like.

Perspective has come

but it has not brought peace.

Here’s the problem:

I’m no better than anyone else.

I’ve been the hero of my own story for so long

I presumed the protagonist was the Good Guy.

No!

The main character in this lurid farce

is an unfinished human

just like any other.

He is ignorant (almost willfully so!),

arrogant,

self-righteous

and ego-drunk

like all humans

who rise above their station.

A mass of contradictions,

he is a petty creature-

reactionary,

too fragile by half,

too self-important,

awash in denial

(and in denial about it!),

just as silly and superficial

as the people he bristles with criticism for.

Poser!

Oh, for the enlightenment

and self-realization

of a slug!

*

© KPKeelan

(8- 3- 15)

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

About KPKeelan

Fool, Philosopher, Lover & Dreamer, Benign TROUBLEMAKER, King and Jester of KPKworld, an online portal to visual and linguistic mystery, befuddlement and delight.
This entry was posted in ME: TROLL and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Love to hear your (constructive) thoughts!

