“The Unintended Consequences of Joy” (a poem by KPKeelan)

*

It’s a playful scene,

nobody pays it any mind:

two kids staging a mock-duel.

Nothing serious,

all in good fun. 

Life surrounds,

grooving on its own rhythm.

 

Suddenly!

a scream rends the air

followed by cries of:

“I’m sorry!  I’m sorry!”

“I didn’t mean to!”

There is blood.

 

The injured child grabs her cheek,

face locked in frozen horror,

fast feet running

for the comfort of Mom.

He follows, mortified:

“I’m sorry!  I’m sorry!”

 

Yeah, it’s all in good fun

‘til somebody loses an eye!

*

© KPKeelan

(8- 8- 13)

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

About KPKeelan

Fool, Philosopher, Lover & Dreamer, Benign TROUBLEMAKER, King and Jester of KPKworld, an online portal to visual and linguistic mystery, befuddlement and delight.
This entry was posted in ME: TROLL and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “The Unintended Consequences of Joy” (a poem by KPKeelan)

  1. All from our dysfunctional society which teaches “be macho, compete”…even to little girls….with regular tragic results.

    Like

  2. Anne Vance says:

    Kevin, this is one of your later poems. I like it. Why don’t you post some more of your

    Like

  3. more of my… recent work? What make you think I’m still writing poetry? Just kidding- thankfully. My Muse is still very active, though perhaps trying to do too many things at once. This year is KPK world is all about rummaging through the vaults and clearing out the back catalogue while I write a poem a day for “2013: A Turbulent Year” to be published daily throughout 2014. October is the exception. I’m publishing “overflow” poems in my birth month, pieces that came into being when I wrote more than one poem in a single day. (Next year I plan to take a bit of a break and write only when the Muse insists, for publication in 2015 and beyond.) And on October 16th I’m publishing something every 15 minutes of the day in a big marathon extravaganza! Thanks for reading Anne, Ronnie and all.

    Like

Love to hear your (constructive) thoughts!

