GUESTBOOK 165 (2015): “November 1987” (by Rita Wadsworth)

Rita

.

The rumors flying wildly

are not precisely true,

although I must confess that I

have had a fling or two.

But come now, let’s be honest-

haven’t you?

I thought i knew the answers,

thought i was so smart.

i found the answers didn’t match

the questions in my heart.

I’ve had my fling with glamour,

done my time with art.

Security’s seduced me,

safety’s caught my heart.

But comfort’s charms grow pale and wan

when boredom rears its head.

Sleeping beauty’s wide awake.

I should have stayed in bed!

Tired of being lonely

don’t know how else to be.

I’ve learned a lot of what is not

the kind of man for me.

Why do I keep trying?  Better get a cat.

I haven’t found the answer-

and that my friend, is that.

*   *   *

(© Rita Wadsworth)

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

About KPKeelan

Fool, Philosopher, Lover & Dreamer, Benign TROUBLEMAKER, King and Jester of KPKworld, an online portal to visual and linguistic mystery, befuddlement and delight.
This entry was posted in GUESTBOOK and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Love to hear your (constructive) thoughts!

