2013 GUESTBOOK 76: “Time to Spare” (by Anne Vance)

Anne Vance.

 I’ve met him face to face, that Old Man Time.


I do not fear him, but he’s hard to see


And he never talks to me.

 

I have asked but get no answer.


How long will you stay with me, Mr. Time?


But do I really want to know?



If I could know exactly


How much time that I have left


Could I still enjoy my morning cup of coffee? 



Or would I gulp it down and get to work


On all the things I need to do


Before my time to go? 



Sometimes I think that time stands still,


And it is I that must be moving constantly


Just to feel that I am here, and me. 



Perhaps I should heed that old saying:


(I think it was a highway sign) 
It read


SLOW DOWN AND LIVE.

.

(© Anne Vance, 6- 8- 12)

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

 

About KPKeelan

Fool, Philosopher, Lover & Dreamer, Benign TROUBLEMAKER, King and Jester of KPKworld, an online portal to visual and linguistic mystery, befuddlement and delight.
This entry was posted in GUESTBOOK and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2013 GUESTBOOK 76: “Time to Spare” (by Anne Vance)

  1. annevance@hrecn.net says:

    GREAT POEM! THANKS, KEVIN.

    Like

Love to hear your (constructive) thoughts!

