GUESTBOOK (2012) 38: “Witty” (by Jonna G. Wiseman)

(Jonna G. Wiseman was a young woman I sat next to on a cross-country bus, when I was a young man- way back in the summer of 1978. Obviously, we had a lot of time to talk. Jonna seemed very interested in me. She kept peppering me with questions about my life and art. When I told her I was a “recovering poet and former skeptic”,  she laughed and insisted I show her some of my work. As it happened, I did have a half-filled poetry journal I travelled with. She devoured the whole thing before we got to Boston, slipping the following poem between a few pages discreetly, and a  planting a sweet kiss as we parted. I never saw her or talked to her again…)

WITTY

See the kid.

He’s younger than he looks

but he’s smart.

Such a sensitive child

respectful and wise.

It’s wonderous

that a seventy-five dollar bus ride could benefit us all;

teach us to read;

direct us for filming our judgements.

All of us.

.

(June 1978, on Greyhound Bus #1155)

About KPKeelan

Fool, Philosopher, Lover & Dreamer, Benign TROUBLEMAKER, King and Jester of KPKworld, an online portal to visual and linguistic mystery, befuddlement and delight.
This entry was posted in GUESTBOOK and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to GUESTBOOK (2012) 38: “Witty” (by Jonna G. Wiseman)

  1. Joe Warney says:

    Hi there

    Appreciate your sharing this website.

    I just prefer to figure out what software you’ve utilized to construct this website? I choose to develop a guestbook such as this on rundt

    Glad I found it.

    Like

Love to hear your (constructive) thoughts!

