GUESTBOOK 2011- POINT/COUNTERPOINT: “I Love People” (by Stuart Vance) & “A Love Letter to Human Imperfection” (by KPKeelan)

Stu caracature.

I LOVE PEOPLE

I’m beginning

to see how

incredible

everyone is.

People who I’ve known for years

suddenly seem, well…

new.

I appreciate people now.

I can see this outrageous light

shining

blaring out of

EYERYBODY’S EYES

and I know that

I am seeing myself.

.

(© Stuart Vance, 1- 15- 1980)

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

*  *  *

A LOVE LETTER TO HUMAN IMPERFECTION

Hey Stu- me too!!

I LOVE PEOPLE too.

Can’t help myself!

They are so small and fragile,

can be so petty and myopic-

but human frailty in all its glorious diversity

is a thing of breathtaking beauty.

I love smart people

and people who think they’re smart, but are mistaken.

I love simple people, scheming Svengalis, sillyheads.

I love the happy lovers and the sad haters.

(They need it more.)

I love truth-tellers, and chronic liars.

I love the emaciated anorexics and bloated gluttons,

surly teenagers with pimples,

playful children and homeless hobos.

I love all those fat people I see buying things they don’t need,

skinny people not buying food they do need

I love all the beautiful people who are convinced they aren’t.

I love creative types and the clueless blockheads who inspire them.

I love treehuggers and Earth-Firsters.

I love Republicans! (But am loath to say so publicly.)

I love cigarette smokers and people who wear too much perfume…

(From a distance- upwind!)

I love the soiled saints and sacred sinners I see

strutting safely behind mirrored masks.

I love all my brethren living their lives behind bars.

I love the bullied children and the bullies,

the exalted celebrities and the invisible laborers.

I love the innocent and the guilty.

We’re all guilty sometimes

of forgetting

to love.

I love remembering!

*

© KPKeelan

(4- 29- 12)

(For Stuart)

About KPKeelan

Fool, Philosopher, Lover & Dreamer, Benign TROUBLEMAKER, King and Jester of KPKworld, an online portal to visual and linguistic mystery, befuddlement and delight.
This entry was posted in GUESTBOOK and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Love to hear your (constructive) thoughts!

