Poems of a Young Man: “Climbing That Mountain” (for Heather) (© KPKeelan)

.

Would one believe it?

Could it be true?

I may have been sleeping,

but I saw that mountain last night

behind fluttering eyelids.

How perfect it loomed

above the flower-speckled meadow,

crowned with virgin snow

and ringed by roiling clouds,

drenched in peace

but oozing mystery!

And I,

stranded at the base

looking up-

no ropes,

no training,

no guide.

How could I ever ascend

without Magic?

But my pockets were empty.

My cup was dry.

Then, what luck!

In my clenched fist

I found the Magic I needed

cradled in human hands!

And in a whirl,

there I was-

standing tall on the summit

gazing down at the deep, still lake

and I knew!

I was on Katmai-

sacred mountain

guarded by Kodiaks.

A wind

from nowhere

tousled my hair

and kissed the surface of the lake,

before vanishing

into stillness and repose.

Hearing a sigh,

I turned to see

you-

standing by a sentinel bear

and stroking his pelt as he purred.

You gazed my way,

(those eyes!)

and you smiled,

(that smile!)

and I came to you-

the wind rising, the silence screaming!

And

I gave you my Magic.

.

(1982)

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

About KPKeelan

Fool, Philosopher, Lover & Dreamer, Benign TROUBLEMAKER, King and Jester of KPKworld, an online portal to visual and linguistic mystery, befuddlement and delight.
This entry was posted in KPK (A to Z) and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poems of a Young Man: “Climbing That Mountain” (for Heather) (© KPKeelan)

  1. Ronaldo do la Oceana says:

    the sadness of long lost love
    brings fond memories to an old man’s aching heart.

    Like

  2. Jim Greene says:

    Wonderful, touching poetry, Kevin. I will read more when I have some time. Thanks!

    Like

Love to hear your (constructive) thoughts!

