GUESTBOOK 150 (2015): “Repent” (a poem by William Caufield)

*

I stood before the stone with my offerings,

A gift-bearer placing it on the bearer of gifts,

My life I laid before the gods to take,

In repentance for deeds now past,

How could I do such dark and ugly things,

To someone that I loved so much?

Now she is gone, but I remain,

As does the memory that does not fade,

Of her and I and what we once had,

And what I have left now.

I ask for nothing because it’s how I feel,

When I try to look inside,

Must I do it to everyone I love,

Before I see what’s wrong is me?

I repent, my gods, I repent.

*

(WRC  02/05/81)

all rights reserved

About KPKeelan

Fool, Philosopher, Lover & Dreamer, Benign TROUBLEMAKER, King and Jester of KPKworld, an online portal to visual and linguistic mystery, befuddlement and delight.
This entry was posted in GUESTBOOK and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Love to hear your (constructive) thoughts!

