GUESTBOOK 124 (2015): “Emergence” (by Shannon Vance)

.

Run for your lives!

It’s Reality!

And it’s coming fast!

Leave your boxes!

Throw down your spatulas!

It’s the real thing this time.

I remember dreaming,

turning from

scenario to pregnant scenario.

Watching my twistings

my unplanned manipulation.

I never was awakened by the bell

or the coffee

or the time clock.

They were all included in the dream.

-And, oh yes:

I remember

forcing my sadness

down every imaginary person’s throat…

if I was a fool them,

I’m the court jester now

with my shining uniform

patchwork paradoxes

hanging around my waist.
I eat sadness for dinner

and spew mirth at breakfast.

This is life!

(Why am I shivering?)

Oh- call on my friends

they all know what to do

when they find someone at the store

on the shelf

packaged as a frozen dinner

for someone else who lives alone…

But don’t blame me

if you aren’t ready when I arrive.

.

(©  5- 28- 79)

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

About KPKeelan

Fool, Philosopher, Lover & Dreamer, Benign TROUBLEMAKER, King and Jester of KPKworld, an online portal to visual and linguistic mystery, befuddlement and delight.
This entry was posted in GUESTBOOK and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Love to hear your (constructive) thoughts!

