Poems of a Young Man: “Old Love Letters”

.

Lurking

like a skeleton in my closet

old love letters I thought I’d thrown away

a long time ago,

reappear

in unmarked boxes

to haunt

and taunt me with the past.

 

Old love letters-

unopened and unmailed

for wont of courage-

full of fiery misplaced passions

seething immaturity

in presumptuous prose on sheets of yellowing paper,

I find a full accounting

of action and interaction

that sizzled and sputtered into

inaction.

 

Old love letters-

revealing forgotten intimacies.

Why did I allow myself

the narcotic of forgetfulness?

Old love letters-

penned with an unevolved scrawl,

stuffed in careless creases

into bland envelopes heavy with feeling-

make me dissatisfied with who I’ve become,

with the world I’ve lost

and world I’ve made.

 

Old love letters like these

deserve to die

consumed by forgiving flame

but I don’t have the heart to kill them.

Sickly sentiment betrays me.

Instead, they sit

in an unmarked cardboard box

to fade and wilt and decay

maybe

to be buried with me:

a cardboard box

in my coffin.

.

(9- 29- 78)

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

About KPKeelan

Fool, Philosopher, Lover & Dreamer, Benign TROUBLEMAKER, King and Jester of KPKworld, an online portal to visual and linguistic mystery, befuddlement and delight.
This entry was posted in Poems of a Young Man and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Love to hear your (constructive) thoughts!

