Poems of a Young Man: “Not So Much as Enough”

. 

Like a female Atlas

born to the task

she supported

this rock world of us,

making the burden seem less

than the weight of sunlight

on her fragile shoulders.

She is not so much my savior

as my welcome delight.

But even Atlas

cannot endure forever.

And though she held us

so securely it seemed

for such a long time-

not much bled through

into today.

 

So not much

will have to be

enough.

.

(5- 27- 79)

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

About KPKeelan

Fool, Philosopher, Lover & Dreamer, Benign TROUBLEMAKER, King and Jester of KPKworld, an online portal to visual and linguistic mystery, befuddlement and delight.
This entry was posted in Poems of a Young Man and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Poems of a Young Man: “Not So Much as Enough”

  1. May of ’79- could only be one woman: the woman I wrote the bulk of my love poems to. “A.C.” was the woman I moved to Santa Cruz with from El Lay, but our relationship ended almost immediately, because not only did she suddenly decide she wanted an “open” relationship, but she thought she should be able to bring her other lover(s) over to the house we shared. This was a bridge too far. I though it showed complete disrespect for our relationship, and me! Now that I stop to think about it, I am quite bitter about the way she treated me. Sadly I’m used to it. Lots of people treat me like shit now…

    Like

  2. It’s a common social disease, being treated like shit. Even people who “have someone” get treated like shit by others or even their own mates…. Change yourself Kevin, you can reach others by changing yourself to allow more compassionate communication….but yes, we want to be loved, don’t we?

    Like

Love to hear your (constructive) thoughts!

