Poems of a Young Man: “It’s Out There! (Maybe Tomorrow in Santa Cruz)” (© KPKeelan)

.

Material things surround me,

and seem so devoid of meaning.

The room sucks me in when I am to be there,

and spits me out when I am to go.

Now, I am to go-

out of the room and into my dreams.

Struggling to retwine the fraying rope of my life,

I’m unresilient now-

unlike the old, happier me.

The pain of everything

will grind away at what’s left of me,

until even the tears are ground out-

and the hurt drives too deep

to weep it out.

So, like a teardrop unfallen-

crestfallen,

I will resign myself to drift back into ever-slumber,

and hope that I can wake

with forgetfulness-

and avoid this sickly impotence.

And, in the light of a new day,

I’ll move forward into the world

and see

what possible trade I can negotiate.

Whatever I grope fruitlessly for-

I know is out there…

Somewhere!  Someday!

 

Maybe tomorrow

in Santa Cruz!

.

 (5- 4- 79)

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

About KPKeelan

Fool, Philosopher, Lover & Dreamer, Benign TROUBLEMAKER, King and Jester of KPKworld, an online portal to visual and linguistic mystery, befuddlement and delight.
This entry was posted in Poems of a Young Man and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Poems of a Young Man: “It’s Out There! (Maybe Tomorrow in Santa Cruz)” (© KPKeelan)

  1. Sure sounds familiar and current, doesn’t it? (love you brother)

    Like

Love to hear your (constructive) thoughts!

