Poems of a Young Man: “My Second Call on My First Phone” (© KPKeelan)

.

Fate manipulates me in Time

places me in space-

this space

in the exact spot I need to be

at precisely the instant I need to be there…

I was having fun

so why did I leave the party

only to lie around the dorm

and write things

that astonish me…

And then the telephone rang.

It could have rung while I was at the party

finagling a tequila sunrise on credit

or learning about roulette from the dealer-

but it rang while I was here

in this room

as if waiting, unwitting

for your call.

The light of your voice

fills the room like candlelight in the darkness

and I find my heart flush with love.

Turning chatterbox,

I read you my latest poem.

You laugh, an artesian well of sunshine.

You have news.

“Are you sitting down?” you foreshadow.

(Knowing you, I lie down.)

Guess who is my honey now?!

A hint…  A revelation!

The new lover jokes, jealous.

Of me?

Me!

Flattered, I assure you.

Special joy she brings me.

Stories, truths,

ironies, woes.

 

Magnificent things exposed!

.

© KPKeelan

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

(10-15-77)

About KPKeelan

Fool, Philosopher, Lover & Dreamer, Benign TROUBLEMAKER, King and Jester of KPKworld, an online portal to visual and linguistic mystery, befuddlement and delight.
This entry was posted in Poems of a Young Man and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Love to hear your (constructive) thoughts!

