Poems of a Young Man: “My Déjà Vu” (© KPKeelan)

.

I wonder how my unremembered dreamlife is

these floodwater days of autumn?

It’s almost as if

my dreams go on without me

and defy my conscious mind.

I look out the breath-fogged window and wonder

is the water receding at last?

It seems so-

but it’s begun to rain again.

As the mist creeps into the clearing

and washes over our cozy mountain home,

the rain begins to gently lick the rooftop

above my bed.

If she is with me, or if she is not

will I be dreaming of sunshine and warmth?

Of ripe time?

Of white wine and candlelight?

Warm arms by the fire?

Do I dream of you?

Am I your dream?

Did I dream today

when my déjà vu  stuck me by the head

and pronounced me dizzy,

or is this hiccough of consciousness the real space

and in these sleepless dreams,

I run these endless obstacle courses

trying to awaken again into it?

Please Father Time!

Bring me back

to that recurring real

and, as your timeless heart skips a breathless beat

I will gather my leftover wits

and jump from you

into that world of wonders-

a Robinson Caruso in Paradise,

watching the rain

still, as if frozen in mid-air

above the tideless sea

of my déjà vu.

.

(11- 25- 79)

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

About KPKeelan

Fool, Philosopher, Lover & Dreamer, Benign TROUBLEMAKER, King and Jester of KPKworld, an online portal to visual and linguistic mystery, befuddlement and delight.
This entry was posted in Poems of a Young Man and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Poems of a Young Man: “My Déjà Vu” (© KPKeelan)

  1. Nice one Kevin……a longing…..always the heart is longing, ever longing and the brain struggles to find behaviors that allow the longing to be filled….

    Like

Love to hear your (constructive) thoughts!

