Poems of a Young Man: “Andrea’s Hours” (© KPKeelan)

.

The daytime comes, and with it:

Andrea!

Evening slips into easiness

and time slides right by.

Other things

don’t pass as fast-

echoes of her scent linger

and breathe in the room,

ever renewed,

ever restored by the memory

cupped in my palms

like a quicksilver ether

and sliding through the space left by a sigh.

Echoes of the spoken words resound

long after lips have closed.

I hold her face in my hand.

Then, for an instant

our eyes are locked, until again

she kisses

brushing my lips like a breeze in the treetops.

And again, she turns away.

(She has a lot on her mind.)

Sharing a ripple of intangible peace,

we are comfortable

through our pregnant silences.

I am not worried.

(Though I have a lot on my mind.)

Again she leans forward-

and kisses me like she means it this time.

Andrea wants to say something

but cannot, and bows her head

insecure.

To the rebound I come,

caught up in a bottomless giving

that comes as natural as sleep.

A smile gleaming in my mirror eyes,

I reflect back her image

-free from fear

-free from faltering

and bathed

in Love.

.

(9- 12- 79)

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

About KPKeelan

Fool, Philosopher, Lover & Dreamer, Benign TROUBLEMAKER, King and Jester of KPKworld, an online portal to visual and linguistic mystery, befuddlement and delight.
This entry was posted in Poems of a Young Man and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Poems of a Young Man: “Andrea’s Hours” (© KPKeelan)

  1. annevance@hrecn.net says:

    I love this beautiful love poem. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. Yes, very nice poem Kev! The romance you seek starts at home. Romance yourself and yes, keep reaching out for romance w/an other…. It’s sad that it’s so hard to find what is so natural and easy…..

    Like

Love to hear your (constructive) thoughts!

