GUESTBOOK (2012) 41: “Follow Me Ghosts!” (by Stuart Vance & KPKeelan)

.

Wrinkles creeping on a dog-eared soul,

the dust of time collects behind my ears-

dusts my eyebrows with furrows-

transforms me from the inside out,

until I barely recognize the old geezer in the mirror…

This current age, its digital fingers sticky yet

Slipping easily past our solitude’s security,

Makes reluctant, unknowable poets of us all.

So it passes that squared up against the midnight hour

Stabbing at my hotel’s branded pad,

Ballpoint quill implicating my inky hand,

I start of a sudden when it occurs to me brother,

I haven’t a single image of your sister long-dead,

In my head or otherwise, with which I can

Measure my own passing time…

So what then? Do we make our own images

to wake the dead to our living eyes?

Mold words to evoke the vanished vision?

Build an alter to the disappeared

from scraps of memory:

a familiar smile, a glint in the eye, a certain resonant smell

to reinvent the absent love?

Could you ever erase that image

interred forever in your heart?…

No, but not thankfully no, for we know what we know

and we avert our eyes to the plain old fact anyway:

that we ourselves are ghosts

alive in the future-tense only theoretically

and bound as we are by senses, thoughts, feelings

and a familiar mass of meat and bone — in this moment.

Don’t we just carry on doing the same old small chores?

Every day we carpenters raising high the roof beams against

complete entropic collapse.

Every day, every hour, every minute of the day.

oblivion is inescapable. All things ultimately so run.

So follow me ghosts! We dance up a hill where we’ll all

end up as missing persons in the hearts of the ones who loved us well

despite all that went wrong eventually.

.

(11- 26- 11)

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

About KPKeelan

Fool, Philosopher, Lover & Dreamer, Benign TROUBLEMAKER, King and Jester of KPKworld, an online portal to visual and linguistic mystery, befuddlement and delight.
This entry was posted in GUESTBOOK and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to GUESTBOOK (2012) 41: “Follow Me Ghosts!” (by Stuart Vance & KPKeelan)

  1. Norm Vance says:

    When Courtney was 3 years old, she borrowed some of my watercolors and a brush.
    I watched as she deftly painted a night scene, complete with a moon.
    I was so impressed by her painting I wrote this. It’s named “Almost a Haiku”
    I see the man in the moon tonight
    small chin, sad eyes, Charles Laughton cheeks
    he looks as though tears
    come easy to him.
    all alone in the vast
    parliament of sky
    he hears the
    high wail of earth

    I sent this to the New Yorker magazine, but haven’t heard if they will publish it.
    Norm

    Like

Love to hear your (constructive) thoughts!

