GUESTBOOK (2012) 35: “POINT/COUNTERPOINT (2 Related Poems)” (by KPKeelan & by Bradley Richter)

.

KICKING MYSELF (WHEN I’M DOWN)

My mind has become

the Enemy,

an agent of suffering,

a bringer of despair.

It has deviously figured out

the best way to hurt me

and never misses an opportunity

to inflict pain.

Dwelling in a lost world

of Yesterdays,

it wants me to fail

so it can taunt: “I told you so!”

It is forever chiding me

that I am not good enough,

and continuously reminds me

that I will never be.

Oh why does my own mind

hate me so?

What have I done

but feed it, love it, nurture it?

Still, I am the Enemy

at the mercy of

cruel neural-pathways,

well-trod ribbons of loathing

and regret,

where every road taken

leads to abuse.

Enough already!

Can’t we call a truce?

Don’t you realize

that if you succeed in killing me

it will be your own suicide?

.

(© KPKeelan)  (9- 14- 11)

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

.

PICKING MYSELF UP (WHEN I’M DOWN)

My mind has become

the Friend,

an agent of nurturing

a bringer of contentment.

It has mercifully devised

the best way to heal me

and never misses an opportunity

to impart joy.

Passing through the infinite universe

of tomorrows,

it wants me to succeed

so it can say, “We did this together.”

It forever assures me

that I am good enough

and continuously reminds me

that I will always be.

Oh why does my own mind

support me so?

All I have done

is feed it, love it, nurture it.

Now, I am the Friend

guided by

optimistic neural pathways

well-trod ribbons of appreciation

and hope,

where every road

leads to redemption.

The mind and heart

have called a truce.

They each realize

that if one kills the other

it will be its own suicide.

 .

(© Bradley Richter, 2011)

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

About KPKeelan

Fool, Philosopher, Lover & Dreamer, Benign TROUBLEMAKER, King and Jester of KPKworld, an online portal to visual and linguistic mystery, befuddlement and delight.
This entry was posted in GUESTBOOK and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to GUESTBOOK (2012) 35: “POINT/COUNTERPOINT (2 Related Poems)” (by KPKeelan & by Bradley Richter)

  1. Nice poem Kev. The mind can be trained to create positive outlooks and be self-compassionate, like Bradley postulates, but what you put out is certainly creative descriptions of what the mind has already been trained to do. Observe and acknowledge the tricks of the mind, then we should work on reinforcing ‘mind as friend’…….meditation and deep breathing and allowing grieving…. Meditation with eyes wide open, many times during our day….

    Like

Love to hear your (constructive) thoughts!

